Gibson-Park misses out on 35 man squad for South African tour

Gibson-Park Misses Out On 35 Man Squad For South African Tour
It was also announced recently that Jack Conan will also not be travelling with the team due to personal reasons. Photo: Inpho
Share this article
Kenneth Fox

Leinster scrum-half Jamison Gibson-Park misses out on Ireland's tour to South Africa next month through injury.

It was also announced recently that Jack Conan will also not be travelling with the team for personal reasons.


Peter O'Mahony will captain the side that boasts a number of fresh faces making their debut.

Ulster forward Cormac Izuchukwu gets his first call up alongside Leinster's Jamie Osborne and Sam Prendergast.

The forward pack looks strong with the likes of Tadgh Beirne, Caelan Doris, Ryan Baird, James Ryan, Josh van der Flier and Dan Sheehan.

Connacht flanker Cian Prendergast earns his third call up for Ireland as well.

With Gibson-Park out, Craig Casey and Conor Murray are the scrum-half options, with Garry Ringrose returning from injury at centre.

Ireland will play South Africa in two tests next month. The first game is on Saturday, July 6th, at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria. Kick-off is 5pm local time/4pm Irish time.


The second test is on Saturday, July 13th at Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban, with kick off at the same time.

You can check out the full 35-man squad below:


Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster) 20

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 40

Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 50

Caelan Doris (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 41

Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 76

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 129

Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 39

Cormac Izuchukwu (Ulster/Ballynahinch)*

Oli Jager (Munster) 1

Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 31

Joe McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster) 10

Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)(captain) 105

Tom O’Toole (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 13

Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 64

Cian Prendergast (UCD/Connacht) 3

James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 62

Dan Sheehan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 26

Nick Timoney (Banbridge/Ulster) 3

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 62



Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 56

Caolin Blade (Galwegians/Connacht) 2

Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) 14

Jack Crowley (Cork Constitution/Munster) 14

Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster) 4

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 72

Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 32

James Lowe (Leinster) 31

Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/Ulster) 17

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 116

Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster) 6

Jimmy O’Brien (Naas/Leinster) 8

Jamie Osborne (Naas/Leinster)*

Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 58

Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 37

Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2024, developed by Square1 and powered by