McDonald omitted from Mayo panel

Former All-Star Ciaran McDonald has been omitted from the Mayo senior football panel for the forthcoming championship, which was released tonight.

Despite returning to club action recently, the Crossmolina clubman is likely to have played his last game for the 41-times Connacht champions.

He has been dogged by injuries in recent years and has failed to feature for Mayo so far this season.

McDonald was part of the Mayo teams that lost the All-Ireland SFC finals in 1997, 2004 and 2006 but the enigmatic forward did pick up an All-Ireland club championship medal with Crossmolina in 2001.

He also won four Connacht SFC medals and last appeared in the Mayo colours as a 59th-minute substitute in last July's 2-13 to 1-06 qualifier loss to Derry at Celtic Park.

But McDonald's club mate James Nallen, who missed the National League campaign but played in a recent trial match, has been included in the Mayo championship panel.

The evergreen Nallen, who last played for Mayo in last July's qualifier win over Cavan, is preparing for his 14th successive championship season.

Meanwhile, four of the Under-21 team which lost last Saturday's All-Ireland semi-final to Kerry have been included in John O'Mahony's senior squad.

Defender Tom Cunniffe, midfielders Tom Parsons and Seamus O'Shea and forward Aidan Campbell have all made the cut.

Mayo face the winners of the Sligo v London clash in the Connacht semi-final at McHale Park, Castlebar on June 22.

MAYO 2008 Championship Panel: David Clarke - Ballina; Shane Nallen - Belmullet; Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis; Kieran Conroy - Shrule-Glencorrib; Colm Boyle - Davitts; Aidan Higgins - Charlestown; Liam O'Malley - Burrishoole; Tom Cunniffe - Castlebar; Pat Kelly - St. Vincent's; Billy Joe Padden - Belmullet; Trevor Howley - Knockmore; David Heaney - Swinford; James Nallen - Crossmolina; Ronan McGarrity - Ballina; Tom Parsons - Charlestown; Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy; Barry Moran - Castlebar; Trevor Mortimer - Shrule-Glencorrib; Alan Dillon - Ballintubber; Pat Harte - Ballina; Aidan Kilcoyne - Knockmore; Mickie Mullins - Claremorris; Austin O'Malley - St. Vincent's; Conor Mortimer - Shrule-Glencorrib; Andy Moran - Ballaghadereen; Mark Ronaldson - Shrule-Glencorrib; James Gill - Westport; Peadar Gardiner - Crossmolina; Aidan Campbell - Swinford

Most Read in Sport