Stephen Kenny includes Molumby and Idah in Ireland squad

Share this article
James Cox
Stephen Kenny has named his first Republic of Ireland squad, with 23 players set to feature in the upcoming Uefa Nations League games against Finland and Bulgaria next month.

Brighton midfielder Jayson Molumby and Norwich City striker Adam Idah receive their first senior international call-ups.

Both players have featured at Under-21 level under Kenny. David McGoldrick is expected to join the squad for the Finland game after he has a foot injury assessed.

Speaking after the squad announcement, Kenny praised both of the new additions to the senior squad.

He said: "Adam Idah can play with his back to goal. There are not many strikers who can do that, and are also very quick. He has all the attributes to be a very good striker. Jayson Molumby learned so much [on loan] at Millwall last season. Our midfield will be very strong and competitive."

James McCarthy, Harry Arter, Shane Long and Darragh Lenihan return to the squad for the clashes in Sofia and Dublin.


Even with McGoldrick missing for the Bulgaria clash, there will be plenty of options up front. Idah is joined by Long, Callum Robinson, Aaron Connolly and Troy Parrott.

Parrott recently completed a loan from Tottenham to Championship outfit Millwall so he will be hoping for a lot more first-team action this season.

Glenn Whelan, a nominee for 2019 Senior International Player of the Year, was left out of the squad. The 36-year-old had returned to the fold under Mick McCarthy but Kenny has opted for younger midfield options.

Ireland face Bulgaria in Sofia on September 3rd and Finland in the Aviva Stadium three days later.

Ireland squad to face Bulgaria and Finland

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Kieran O’Hara (unattached)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Fulham), Jeff Hendrick (unattached), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur – on loan at Millwall), Shane Long (Southampton).

Note: David McGoldrick (Sheffield United) will join the squad for the Finland game.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2020, developed by Square1 and powered by