Fitzgerald and Trimble named in Wolfhounds squad

Ulster's Andrew Trimble and Tom Court will join Leinster players Luke Fitzgerald and Isaac Boss in a match-squad of 23 players for the Ireland Wolfhounds when they take on the England Saxons in Galway this Friday evening at 7.45pm.

Declan Kidney brought the outside back Fitzgerald into the squad after an absence of more than a year for the Leinster star.

Connacht players Robbie Henshaw and David McSharry, who have had strong seasons for their province, are two of the possible debutants for the game also.

There are a further seven players in the Wolfhounds squad who are uncapped at full international level, including Munster's James Coughlan and Tommy O'Donnell.

Some of the newer faces called up the Ireland squad have an opportunity to impress this Friday in Galway before the squad to prepare for the opening game against Wales is announced, with Iain Henderson, David Kilcoyne and Michael Bent all included.

The starting team and replacements will be confirmed at Thursday lunchtime. Tickets for the game are available on

O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Squad (club/province):

Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

James Coughlan (Dolphin/Munster)

Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon /Ulster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)

David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)

Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)

Dave McSharry (UCD/Connacht)

Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)

Lewis Stevenson (Malone/Ulster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)

Most Read in Sport