Dublin lead with 13 All-Star nominations

Dublin Lead With 13 All-Star Nominations Dublin Lead With 13 All-Star Nominations
Leinster GAA Senior Football Championship Final, Croke Park, Co. Dublin 21/11/2020 Dublin vs Meath Dublin's Ciarán Kilkenny, Brian Fenton and James McCarthy celebrate after the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Bryan Keane
Share this article
James Cox

The PwC football All-Stars nominations were announced this morning and All-Ireland champions Dublin unsurprisingly lead the way with 13 nominations.

The only Dublin players who started the All-Ireland final and miss out are Jonny Cooper and Paddy Small.

Cavan (seven nominations) and Tipperary (four nominations) have been recognised for their impressive All-Ireland runs.

Mayo come in second place after Dublin with 12 nominations.

Donegal have three, Galway have two and Armagh, Cork, Kerry and Limerick each have one.

Dublin's Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny are up for Footballer of the Year along with Mayo's Cillian O'Connor.

PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2020

Goalkeepers — David Clarke (Mayo), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Raymond Galligan (Cavan)

Defenders — Davy Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons, Eoin Murchan, John Small, Robbie McDaid (all Dublin); Oisín Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Patrick Durcan (all Mayo); Ciarán Brady, Pádraig Faulkner, Gerry Smith (all Cavan); Kevin Fahy, Bill Maher (Tipperary); Iain Corbett (Limerick); Aidan Forker (Armagh), Peadar Mogan (Donegal).


Midfielders — James McCarthy (Dublin), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Colin O'Riordan (Tipperary), Gearóid McKiernan (Cavan), Matthew Ruane (Mayo), Ian Maguire (Cork).

Forwards — Niall Scully, Con O'Callaghan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock, Seán Bugler (all Dublin); Cillian O'Connor, Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O'Donoghue, Aidan O'Shea, Tommy Conroy (all Mayo); Martin Reilly, Thomas Galligan (both Cavan); Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy (both Galway); Michael Langan, Ciarán Thompson (both Donegal); Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), David Clifford (Kerry)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of Year nominees — Oisín Mullin, Tommy Conroy, Eoghan McLaughlin (all Mayo)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominees — Brian Fenton (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Cillian O'Connor (Mayo)

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© BreakingNews.ie 2021, developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com