Brian Fenton and Gearóid Hegarty win player of the year awards

Brian Fenton And Gearóid Hegarty Win Player Of The Year Awards
GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 19/12/2020 Dublin vs Mayo Dublin’s Brian Fenton celebrates after the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne
Share this article

Digital Desk Staff

Dublin footballer Brian Fenton is the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the year, with the Raheny man having previously won the top prize back in 2018.

Meanwhile, Limerick’s towering wing forward Gearóid Hegarty has been chosen by his peers as the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year with the St Patrick’s star claiming his first award.


As the Irish Examiner reports, Eoin Cody from Ballyhale Shamrocks is the PwC GAA/GPA Young hurler of the Year after his exploits with Kilkenny last season, while Oisín Mullin is the PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year after the Kilmaine flier picked up an award in the football team announced on Friday.


The announcement was made as part of a special programme to honour all the PwC All-Stars shown on RTÉ One.


Uachtarán CLG John Horan saluted the winners and said: “For the last 50 years the All-Stars has stood apart as something special in Irish sport, and our thanks to PwC for enabling us to continue this great tradition and particularly after the significance of staging the Championships last winter.

“Congratulations to all the players, not only for their awards, but for the inspiration they are to their clubs and counties, and it’s an especially great night for Gearóid, Brian, Eoin and Oisín and their families for being chosen by their peers for overall awards.”

Paul Flynn, GPA chief executive, added: “Congratulations to the PwC All-Star hurling team of 2020. These selections always generate plenty of debate, but the 15 players selected certainly merit their inclusion for their outstanding performances. Congratulations too, to all the nominees.

“I want to pay tribute to the Gearóid and Eoin on being named PwC Hurler of the Year and PwC Young Hurler of the Year respectively. Similarly, I want to acknowledge Brian and Oisín on their awards as PwC Footballer of the Year and PwC Young Footballer of the Year.”

Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by