Two uncapped players named in Ireland's Six Nations squad

Two Uncapped Players Named In Ireland's Six Nations Squad
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo
Share this article
Kenneth Fox

Munster’s Craig Casey and Ulster’s Tom O’Toole are the only two uncapped players selected in Ireland's Six Nations squad.

Johnny Sexton will captain the side as overall 17 players from Leinster have been picked in the squad.


Munster's Tadgh Beirne and Peter O'Mahony are among the forwards, as Tadgh Furlong returns to the squad at prop after a lengthy spell out through injury.

Leinster's New Zealand born duo of Jamison Gibson-Park and James Lowe are both named in the squad with Conor Murray in at scrum-half.

Ireland will have two fixtures at the Aviva Stadium in the 2021 Guinness Six Nations when they host France in Round 2 and England on the final weekend of the Championship.

In Round 1 Ireland will take on Wayne Pivac’s Wales at the Principality Stadium.


Ireland’s third round fixture is at the Stadio Olimpico against Italy and in the penultimate round Ireland face Scotland.

Speaking about the squad announcement, Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell commented: “Since the Autumn international window the club season has had a good few disruptions and the cancellation of the European fixtures means there have been less opportunities for players to show form or to return from injury and get some minutes under their belts.

“Tadhg (Furlong) hasn’t played in quite a while, but he is ready to join the group. Unfortunately, Jacob (Stockdale) will not be available to us.”


Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by