Toulouse cruise to Heineken Champions Cup final

Toulouse Cruise To Heineken Champions Cup Final Toulouse Cruise To Heineken Champions Cup Final
TOULOUSE, FRANCE - MAY 01: Pita Ahki of Toulouse is tackled by Matthieu Jalibert of Bordeaux-Begles during the Heineken Champions Cup Semi Final match between Toulouse and Bordeaux Begles at Stade Ernest-Wallon on May 01, 2021 in Toulouse, France. Sporting stadiums around France remain under strict restrictions due to the Coronavirus Pandemic as Government social distancing laws prohibit fans inside venues resulting in games being played behind closed doors. (Photo by Lionel Hahn/Getty Images)
Share this article

By PA Sport Staff

Toulouse 21 - 9 Bordeaux-Begles

Toulouse reached their first Heineken Champions Cup final since 2010 as they saw off Top 14 rivals Bordeaux-Begles 21-9 at Stade Ernest Wallon.

Matthis Lebel scored an early try and Antoine Dupont another late on en route to the hosts securing a seventh appearance in the final of a competition they have won four times.

Toulouse will now face the winners of Sunday’s clash between La Rochelle and Leinster in a showdown at Twickenham on May 22.

Semi-final debutants Bordeaux took the lead in the third minute of the contest through a Matthieu Jalibert penalty.

Toulouse replied two minutes later with Lebel receiving the ball from Maxime Medard, evading two tackles and diving over to make it 5-3.

Another Jalibert penalty nudged the visitors back in front around the midway point of the first half, before one from Romain Ntamack ensured it was Toulouse with the advantage heading into the break.


That advantage was extended via Ntamack adding further penalties in the 45th and 64th minutes.

Jalibert subsequently brought it back to a one-score game with one more of his own in the 68th.

But the gap soon widened again as Dupont crossed with eight minutes to go, with Ntamack adding the conversion, in what proved the final say.

Toulouse won the trophy in 2010 having also done so in 1996, 2003 and 2005, while they were runners-up in 2004 and 2008.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2022, developed by Square1 and powered by