Sunday sport: Westport triumph in Mayo SFC, Arsenal thrash Nottingham

Sunday Sport: Westport Triumph In Mayo Sfc, Arsenal Thrash Nottingham
Mayo Senior Football Championship Final, Elvery's MacHale Park, Mayo 30/10/2022 Ballina Stephenites vs Westport Ballina Stephenites' Padraig O'Hora and Lee Keegan of Westport shake hands ahead of the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tom Maher
Share this article


Marcus Rashford scored his 100th goal for Manchester United to earn his side a 1-0 victory over West Ham at Old Trafford.


The win moves United up to fifth in the Premier League, just a point outside the top four.

Rashford said he was pleased to achieve a personal milestone, but insists his focus has already shifted to Thursday's Europa League clash with Real Sociedad.

Meanwhile, Arsenal have returned to the top of the Premier League thanks to a 5-0 victory at home to Nottingham Forest.

Two goals from substitute Reiss Nelson were among the scores as the Gunners picked up all three points at the Emirates.


However, there is injury concern for Bukayo Saka, after the England forward was withdrawn midway through the first half.


Earlier, Celtic extended their lead at the top of the Scottish Premiership to four points.

Ange Postecoglou's side were 3-0 winners away to Livingston.



Here at home there's one game in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division.

After winning their third successive title this week, Shamrock Rovers will get to celebrate in front of their fans.

They welcome second-placed Derry City to Tallaght Stadium, with kick-off in just under an hour's time.



Galway United are into the First Division play-off final after beating Longford Town 2-0 in the semi-final second-leg.

Goals from David Hurley and Mikie Rowe proved the difference between the sides at Eamonn Deacy Park.

The Tribesman will now face Waterford in the final after they beat Treaty United 7-4.


Dublin Marathon

Taoufik Allam of Morocco has won the 2022 Dublin Marathon.

Allam clocked in at 2 hours, 11 minutes and 30 seconds.

Ethiopia's Nigist Muluneh took the women's title in 2:28:32.

Martin Hoare of Celbridge and Clonmel's Courtney McGuire won the national men's and women's sections respectively.


Lee Keegan's Westport won their first-ever Mayo Senior Football Championship, beating Ballina Stephenites by 1-9 to 1-6.

Elsewhere, David Clifford scored an incredible 1-9 as East Kerry defeated Mid Kerry 1-16 to 0-10 to win the Kerry Senior Football Championship.

In hurling, Na Piarsaigh secured a 7th Limerick Senior Hurling Championship title with a 3-23 to 2-15 win over Kilmallock.

Kilruane MacDonaghs ended a 37-year drought, beating Kiladangan by 2-20 to 1-16 to win the Tipperary Senoir Hurling Final Replay.

Formula 1

Max Verstappen will start the Mexican Grand Prix in pole position from 8pm today, following a qualifying time of 1:17.775.

Compatriots George Russell and Lewis Hamilton will start behind Verstappen in second and third place respectively.


Seamus Power has a one shot lead in the final round of the Butterfield Bermuda Championship.

The Waterford native is currently 21-under-par heading down the back nine at the Port Royal golf course following three consecutive rounds of 65.

American Ben Griffin is following close behind on 20-under-par.

Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by