One enforced change for Munster

Ian Keatley will replace Ronan O’Gara at flyhalf in the only change Munster boss Rob Penney has made for Sunday's crucial meeting with Racing Metro at Thomond Park (12.45pm).

O'Gara is serving a one-week ban for kicking Edinburgh lock Sean Cox.

Aside from the number 10 jersey, the same Munster side that overcame Edinburgh 17-26 will take to the field on Sunday for a match Munster must win and secure a bonus point.

Danger men Felix Jones and Simon Zebo are joined by skipper Doug Howlett in what is beginning to look a settled back three.

James Downey and Keith Earls are the preferred midfield combination with Casey Laulala named among the replacements while Keatley will link up with Conor Murray at halfback.

Mike Sherry and Wian du Preez must be content with a place on the bench as Penney keeps faith with Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley and BJ Botha in the front row.

There is also a place on the bench for promising Cork Constitution prop John Ryan.

Donnacha Ryan and Donncha O’Callaghan continue in the engine room, while Tommy O’Donnell has been given another chance to impress in the number 7 jersey alongside Peter O’Mahony and James Coughlan.

MUNSTER (v. Racing Metro): F Jones; D Howlett (capt), K Earls, J Downey, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray; D Kilcoyne, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, D Ryan; P O’Mahony, T O’Donnell, J Coughlan.

Replacements: M Sherry, W du Preez, J Ryan, B Holland, P Butler, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, C Laulala.

Most Read in Sport