Clare withstand late Cats fightback to end seven-year trophy drought

Clare Withstand Late Cats Fightback To End Seven-Year Trophy Drought
Share this article
Clare 3-16 - 1-20 Kilkenny

Clare have won their first hurling league title since 2016 this evening. They survived a late fightback from Kilkenny to take the Division 1 crown by 3-16 to 1-20.

Eoin Cody had a late penalty saved as the Banner now prepare for the visit of Limerick in the Munster championship in two weeks' time.


Aidan McCarthy shot 2-10 and Adam Hogan led from the back for Clare.

Also, a first piece of seasonal silverware for Brian Lohan, it was a deserving victory for The Banner who led by seven points midway through the second half.

Introduced at half-time, Shane O’Donnell marked his seasonal bow with a small part in Clare’s second goal less than two minutes into the second half. A one-two with David Reidy set up David Fitzgerald to push Clare four points clear.

They stretched that lead to six points by the 45th minute and to seven in the 54th minute when McCarthy netted a second time after a lovely lay-off by Fitzgerald who had put a quiet first half well and truly behind him.

Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2024, developed by Square1 and powered by