Jack Byrne included in 25-man Ireland squad for Euro play-off

Jack Byrne Included In 25-Man Ireland Squad For Euro Play-Off Jack Byrne Included In 25-Man Ireland Squad For Euro Play-Off
Share this article
James Cox
Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne and Blackburn Rovers defender Derrick Williams have received their first call-ups from Stephen Kenny as he named a 25-man squad for the Euro 2020 play-off against Slovakia.

The squad will assemble in Dublin on Sunday and train at the FAI’s National Training Centre in Abbotstown before flying to Slovakia on Tuesday.

The play-off clash in Bratislava takes place on Thursday, October 8th.

Kenny will have plenty of big calls to make. He favoured Matt Doherty at right-back for his first two games, a draw with Bulgaria and a loss to Finland, last month.

However, captain Seamus Coleman will be in contention to reclaim the spot after some fine performance for Everton recently.

In midfield, Byrne will hope to be pushing for a spot after Jeff Hendrick, James McCarthy and Harry Arter all put in underwhelming displays at the beginning of this month.

There are plenty of options up front. Adam Idah was favoured as the lone striker in the last two games but Callum Robinson, David McGoldrick and Aaron Connolly (who Kenny selected on the left wing) have all been in good form at club level.


Here's the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers), Robbie Brady (Burnley).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Shane Long (Southampton).

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© BreakingNews.ie 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com