Ireland v England: Time, channel, team news

Ireland V England: Time, Channel, Team News
Ireland face England at Wembley on Thursday.
Share this article
James Cox

The Republic of Ireland face England in a friendly clash on Thursday, the first time the nations have met since 2015.

Here's everything you need to know about the 'friendly'.

Where is it?

The game takes place at Wembley Stadium. Stephen Kenny's side have replaced New Zealand, who had to pull out of the game due to Covid concerns.

What time is kick-off and where can I watch it?

The game kicks off at 8pm on Thursday and it will be aired live on RTÉ 2 with coverage starting at 7.30pm.

What's at stake?

Just bragging rights but plenty will argue that this game is bigger for Stephen Kenny than the two that follow, UEFA Nations League clashes with Wales and Bulgaria.

Kenny is five games without a win so far but a result against Gareth Southgate's side would lift some of the gloom brought on by the Euro 2020 play-off defeat to Slovakia last month.



England win: 1/4

Draw: 4/1

Republic of Ireland win: 17/2

England are the heavy favourites but the last six ties between the Republic of Ireland and England have ended in draws.

Team news

Captain Seamus Coleman will also sit out tonight's clash after the "recurrence of a previous injury in last night's training session" according to a statement from the FAI. James McCarthy will also miss out due to family reasons.

Aaron Connolly and Callum Robinson have been ruled out of the Republic of Ireland squad for the games against England, Wales and Bulgaria.

The Brighton and Hove Albion forward will miss the three matches through an injury sustained in training and Preston North End striker Sean Maguire has been called up as a replacement.

Robinson has been confirmed as the Covid-19 positive case in the Ireland camp and the West Brom forward will also miss all three games.

Swansea City's Ryan Manning has been called up and will link up with the squad ahead of the Wales match on Sunday.

Seamus Coleman has returned to the Ireland squad after injury.

However, he has not ruled out fitting the pair into the same team.

Another injury blow is the withdrawal of left-back Enda Stevens due to a knee injury. One option would be playing Doherty at left-back, where he has featured before, and Coleman at right-back.


Here's the full Ireland squad:

Republic of Ireland Squad 

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Cyrus Christie (Nottingham Forest).

Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers), Ryan Manning (Swansea City).

Forwards: Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Luton Town), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).

Gareth Southgate also has a full strength squad to pick from.

A lot of focus will be on Jack Grealish and Declan Rice, who previously represented Ireland before switching international allegiances.

England squad

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur),  Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Reece James (Chelsea), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa),  Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City),  James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Forwards: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United).

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2021, developed by Square1 and powered by