Provisional squad confirmed for International Rules series

A provisional 31-man training panel for the International Rules series tour of Australia has been announced today.

International Rules manager Anthony Tohill will be naming his final panel of 23 on October 11.

“We are very happy with the panel that has been assembled and with the mood within the squad,” Tohill told

“Those who have trained with us have applied themselves diligently and are looking forward to the challenge of regaining the Cormac McAnallen trophy.

“A number of other players were approached to join the training panel but were unable to do so due to injury and other commitments.”

“The selectors and I are working our way through the difficult job of cutting the training panel to the required number of 23. Players not selected in the final 23 will be on standby.”

The final squad will leave Ireland on Oct 22. Ireland will play Australia at the Etihad Stadium Melbourne, on October 28 and the Metricon Stadium in Gold Coast on November 4.

Both matches will be broadcast live on TG4, both at 9.45am.

TG4 Ireland International Rules Preliminary Panel 2011:

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Leighton Glynn (Wicklow)

Rob Kelly (Kildare)

Emmet Bolton (Kildare)

Brendan Murphy (Carlow)

Colm Begley (Laois)

Kevin Reilly (Meath)

Karl Lacey (Donegal)

Neil McGee (Donegal)

Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Steven McDonnell (Armagh)

Ciarán McKeever (Armagh)

Danny Hughes (Down)

Kevin McKernan (Down)

Joe McMahon (Tyrone)

Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

Finian Hanley (Galway)

Donal Vaughan (Mayo)

Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

Aidan Walsh (Cork)

Patrick Kelly (Cork)

Tomas O'Connor (Kildare)

Eamon Callaghan (Kildare)

Kieran Donaghy (Kerry)

Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry)

Tommy Walsh (Kerry/St Kilda)

Michael Quinn (Longford /Essendon)

Chrissy McKaigue (Derry/Sydney Swans)

Zach Touhy (Laois - Carlton)

Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry/Sydney Swans)

Pearse Hanley (Mayo/Brisbane Lions)

Most Read in Sport