GAA: Waterford stun Cork to take Division 1 National Hurling League title

Gaa: Waterford Stun Cork To Take Division 1 National Hurling League Title Gaa: Waterford Stun Cork To Take Division 1 National Hurling League Title
Waterford's Stephen Bennett shoots to score his county's second goal of their Division 1 National Hurling League final against Cork. Photo: INPHO/Ken Sutton
Share this article

Despite the absence of talisman Austin Gleeson, Waterford stormed to victory over Cork in the National Hurling League Division 1 final at Semple Stadium.

Waterford got off to the stronger start with goals from Stephen Bennett and Paddy Curran aiding the Déise to a 2-10 to 0-10 lead at half-time.

Things didn't improve for the Rebels after the break, with Bennett returning to claim his second goal of the night, before Dessie Hutchinson raised the green flag.

A small consolation for Kieran Kingston's men came in the form of a late goal for Robbie O'Flynn, however, it was too little too late to deny Waterford their spot on top of Division 1 for 2022.

Earlier, in the first of the Thurles double-header, Westmeath eased to victory in the Division 2A final over Down, with the game ending 5-19 to 1-17.

Tyrone claimed the Division 3A title, beating Armagh 2-21 to 2-19, while Derry took the Division 2B crown, beating Sligo 1-23 to 2-15.

In the Division 3B final, Fermanagh bested Longford 2-18 to 1-17.

Today's football finals saw Cavan beat Tipperary 2-10 to 0-15 at Croke Park to take the Division 4 title, while Mickey Harte’s Louth made a strong comeback in the second half to deny Limerick, ending 1-14 to 0-12 in Croke Park.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2022, developed by Square1 and powered by