GAA wrap: Dublin ease to 11th successive Leinster title despite best Kildare effort

Gaa Wrap: Dublin Ease To 11Th Successive Leinster Title Despite Best Kildare Effort Gaa Wrap: Dublin Ease To 11Th Successive Leinster Title Despite Best Kildare Effort
Jonny Cooper lifts the Delaney Cup for Dublin. Photo: INPHO/Ryan Byrne
Share this article
Muireann Duffy

Dublin have once again been crowned Leinster champions after taking a sound win over neighbours Kildare.

The opening quarter set a good tone, with Kildare claiming the first point of the afternoon and stacking their defence in the hopes of keeping Dessie Farrell's men out.

Only a point down at the first half water break, Jack O'Connor's charges were calling Dublin's winning streak into question, but four points from Dean Rock, Con O'Callaghan and Cormac Costello showed they were staying cool under pressure.

The sides looked on the same standing after the restart, each taking two points apiece, but it was not long before Dublin again pushed on with four unanswered points.

Three quarters behind them and seven points down, the game looked beyond Kildare, however, that did not stop Daniel Flynn from seeing a beautiful shot past Dublin keeper Evan Comerford with less than 10 minutes of normal time remaining.


Daniel Flynn netted for Kildare in the second half. Photo: INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Unshaken by the goal, the Dubs continued to rack up their points, adding four more before the final whistle, while Kildare could only manage one further score in the closing minutes.

Ending 0-20 to 1-9, Dublin will now face Mayo in the All-Ireland semi-final and the Delaney Cup remains in the capital for another season.

Earlier, in the Christy Ring Cup final, Offaly took a decisive win over Derry despite two goals for the northern county. The game in Croke Park ended 2-14 to 0-41, seeing Michael Fennelly's side take the title.

Tipperary's Grace O'Brien. Photo: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan


Two late goals for Tipperary saw them past Wexford in Group 1 of the All-Ireland Camogie Senior Championship. The five-goal thriller in Semple Stadium brought an exciting end to the weekends action's, with a final score of 4-11 to 1-11.

Earlier in the weekend, a shaky start by Cork, conceding two early goals to Waterford, only strengthened their resolve- coming back with a two goal reply at the close of the opening half. Another goal for the Déise made for a close contest in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, however, the homeside came good at the final whistle, 2-19 to 3-8.

The big fixture of the weekend was undoubtedly Kilkenny's meeting with Galway, with only the smallest of margins separating the sides. Despite being reduced to 14 after just 15 minutes, Galway rallied to take a 1-13 to 0-15 win over the reigning All-Ireland champions.

The weekend also saw relegation play-offs, with Limerick taking a vital 0-17 to 2-9 win over Offaly. Clare also got a much-needed win over Westmeath, ending 2-12 to 0-12, while Dublin bested Down by a single point, finishing 1-9 to 0-11.

With Cork and Galway receiving byes into the semi-finals, Waterford will now face Tipperary and Kilkenny will take on Wexford in the quarter-finals on August 21st to decide who joins them.

Meath's Emma Duggan with Grace Ferguson of Armagh. Photo: INPHO/John McVitty

Ladies Football

Sunday had the first of the weekend's two quarter-finals in the All-Ireland Ladies Football Senior Championship with decisive wins north and south of the Border.

In Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork pushed past Waterford on a scoreline of 0-14 to 0-8, aided by points from Eimear Scally and Áine Terry O'Sullivan, while St Tiarnachs played host to Meath's 1-14 to 3-15 win over Armagh to see them into the semi-finals.

The two remaining quarter-finals will be played off on Monday, with western neighbours Mayo and Galway meeting at MacHale Park at 1.45pm, before Dublin play Donegal at Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada at 4pm.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2022, developed by Square1 and powered by