Dublin make it six, Mayo heartbroken once again

Dublin Make It Six, Mayo Heartbroken Once Again
Dublin's Stephen Cluxton lifts the Sam Maguire Cup. Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne
Share this article
Muireann Duffy

A win today was going to be historic regardless of the victor, but unfortunately for Mayo, a personal feat for Dean Rock got the Dubs off to a dream start.

The ball had hardly left referee David Coldrick's hands from the throw-in when James McCarthy spotted the pass to Rock, finding the back of the Mayo net in just 13 seconds, an All-Ireland final record.


Shaken? Yes, but defeated? Not quite. James Horan's side got to work with three unanswered points, with their dogged attacking putting to bed Dublin's ideas of having an easy evening.

A free from Cillian O'Connor in the 21st minute was Mayo's only time out in front, while a goal from Con O'Callaghan two minutes later pushed the reigning champions back ahead.

Despite the scoreline, Mayo arguably put in the stronger performance in the first half and their two-point deficit looked likely to disappear after the restart.

But Dublin returned after the break with their eye's on six-in-a-row and fought accordingly.

Mayo missed their opportunity to capitalise on Rob McDaid's black card, but stayed well in contention up to the second half water break, before Dessie Farrel's side stretched their legs one last time in 2020.

Ending 2-14 to 0-15, Sam Mcguire rests in the capital for another year.


Read More

Message submitting... Thank you for waiting.

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© BreakingNews.ie 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by PublisherPlus.com