Coleman returns as Ireland squad named for England, Wales, Bulgaria games

Coleman Returns As Ireland Squad Named For England, Wales, Bulgaria Games
Ireland will take on England at Wembley Stadium.
Share this article
James Cox

Stephen Kenny has named his Republic of Ireland squad for the upcoming friendly against England and UEFA Nations League clashes against Wales and Bulgaria.

Ireland face England at Wembley Stadium on Thursday, November 12th, Wales on Sunday, November 15th at the Cardiff City Stadium and Bulgaria at the Aviva Stadium on Wednesday, November 18th.

Captain Coleman missed the Euro 2020 play-off defeat to Slovakia and the Nations League clash with Wales through injury.

He was preferred to Matt Doherty at right-back in Kenny's first games as Ireland boss but Coleman has been in fine form for Everton so he has a good chance of regaining a starting position. Kenny has not ruled out fitting Coleman and Tottenham star Doherty into the same starting 11.

Luton Town striker James Collins has been called up for the first time under Kenny after Sheffield United striker David McGoldrick announced his retirement from international football.


Shamrock Rovers midfielder Jack Byrne will link up with the squad ahead of the Wales game.

The squad will meet up on Sunday, November 8th in London ahead of the international friendly against England on Thursday.

Republic of Ireland Squad 

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhín Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).
Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O'Shea (West Bromwich Albion).
Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Nottingham Forest), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers).
Forwards: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), James Collins (Luton Town), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers).

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2021, developed by Square1 and powered by