Limerick claim All-Ireland title with 11-point win over Waterford

Limerick Claim All-Ireland Title With 11-Point Win Over Waterford Limerick Claim All-Ireland Title With 11-Point Win Over Waterford
Limerick are the 2020 All-Ireland Hurling Champions.
Share this article
James Cox

Limerick are the All-Ireland hurling champions after a commanding 0-30 to 0-19 victory over Waterford at Croke Park today.

The Déise gave it absolutely everything and put up a good fight but Limerick's class shone through on the day.

The early exchanges saw both teams trading points and the gap was just three points at half-time, as Limerick lead 0-14 to 0-11.

Limerick were two points ahead in as many minutes with Tom Morrissey opening the scoring after 43 seconds.

Waterford replied with two frees from Stephen Bennett before a fine Morrissey point put Limerick back in front.

Two more points for Limerick followed before Waterford goalkeeper Stephen O'Keeffe made a fine double save.

Kyle Hayes' point in the 26th minute saw Limerick go six points ahead, 0-10 to 0-4.

However, Waterford pulled their way back into the game with points from Stephen Bennett, Kieran Bennett and Austin Gleeson.

The second half saw Limerick pull away and they were six points ahead, 0-18 to 0-12, after a Seamus Flanagan free in the 41st minute.

Waterford never gave up and continued to reply with points of their own, Gleeson's point in the 56th minute still saw them trailling by eight points though.

A stunning point from Aaron Gillane in the 57th minute put Limerick in front by nine points.

Limerick pulled away even more in the closing stages and the last point came from Morrissey in the second minute of additional time, for a final score of 0-30 to 0-19.



Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2022, developed by Square1 and powered by