Weather warnings take effect for 16 counties

Weather Warnings Take Effect For 16 Counties Weather Warnings Take Effect For 16 Counties
Met Éireann warned of potential localised flooding in affected counties. Photo: PA Images
Share this article
Muireann Duffy

A series of weather warnings have taken effect, covering 16 counties in the south and east of the country.

A status orange rain warning began at midnight for Cork, Kerry, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow, with Met Éireann predicting heavy rain, thundery downpours and the possibility of localised flooding.

The forecaster added that conditions are likely to cause disruption.

The orange warning is due to be lifted at midnight on Thursday.

Meanwhile, Carlow, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly and Tipperary were placed under a yellow warning for rain from 5am.

A similar warning for Cavan, Monaghan, Dublin, Kildare, Louth and Meath took effect at 4am, both of which will also remain in place until midnight.


Heavy rain set in overnight in affected counties, with motorists urged to take care on the roads and to be mindful of potential flooding.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2023, developed by Square1 and powered by