Status yellow weather warning issued for 18 counties

Status Yellow Weather Warning Issued For 18 Counties
The forecaster said the heavy rain will turn 'wintry at times'. Photo: Getty Images.
Share this article

A status yellow snow and ice warning has been issued for 18 counties.

Met Éireann has issued the alert, predicting wintry falls with some accumulations possible.

The warning covers all of Connacht, Donegal, Monaghan, Cavan, and all Leinster counties, except Wexford and Kilkenny and will come into effect from 6am on Sunday, lasting until 6pm.

This follows an earlier yellow rain warning for Wexford and Wicklow today, with up to 40 millimetres of rain expected to fall between 3am and 3pm.

A weather advisory has also been issued for the entire country as a period of unsettled weather moves across Ireland bringing wet and windy conditions and a risk of localised flooding.


The country-wide advisory will last until midnight on Sunday.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2021, developed by Square1 and powered by