Hotel quarantine list updated as travellers from Britain urged to 'strictly adhere'

Hotel Quarantine List Updated As Travellers From Britain Urged To 'Strictly Adhere'
Travellers from Britain have been urged to 'strictly adhere' to home quarantine amid the spread of the Delta variant. Photo: PA Images.
Share this article

One new country has been added to Ireland’s mandatory hotel quarantine list, while travellers from Britain have been urged to “strictly adhere” to home quarantine amid the spread of the Delta variant.

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly has confirmed that Uganda will be deemed a “high-risk” state from 4am on Wednesday, June 16th.

It comes after Afghanistan, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Sudan and Trinidad and Tobago were added to the list last weekend.

People arriving to Ireland who have been in or transited through these states in the previous 14 days must enter mandatory hotel quarantine.

Uganda will soon be included on the booking system for hotel quarantine. More information on the quarantine system is available here.

Travellers from Britain

Meanwhile, it remains a legal requirement for all other arrivals into the country to have a negative or “not detected” result from a Covid-19 RT-PCR test carried out no more than 72 hours before their arrival.


It is also a legal requirement that they observe a 14-day period of mandatory “home” quarantine. This period can be shortened if the person receives a not-detected RT-PCR test result taken no less than five days after arrival.

Covid: 431 cases confirmed as concerns remain over...
Read More

An online booking portal for day-five tests has been launched for people arriving into the State from overseas. Testing is free and can be booked via

“Due to concerns about the new variant of Covid-19, people travelling from Great Britain are strongly advised to avail of free testing five days after arrival in Ireland, and to strictly adhere to the legal requirements for home quarantine,” a Government statement said this evening.

Including the new addition, 22 African states, 14 South American states, 12 Asian states, three North American states, and one European state are currently on the hotel quarantine list.

The full list of designated states is available here.

Read More

Want us to email you top stories each lunch time?

Download our Apps
© 2021, developed by Square1 and powered by