Zebo one of nine players to commit to Munster

22-year-old flyer Simon Zebo is one of nine Munster players who have signed contracts which will keep them at the province for the immediate future.

The in-form winger has penned a three-year deal that sees him remain until at least the end of season 2015/2016.

Three development players – JJ Hanrahan, Dave O’Callaghan and Luke O’Dea – have signed new contracts which secure Munster their services until the end of the 2014/2015 season.

Number 8 James Coughlan, who won his 100th cap against Saracens at Vicarage Road, hooker Mike Sherry, lock Dave Foley and back row Paddy Butler are the others who have committed their immediate future to Munster while Sean Dougall, in his first season with Munster, has also agreed a two-year extension.

The news was announced today at the close of Munster's training session in UL by Rob Penney and the New Zealander is delighted to see promising players row in behind his vision for the club.

“I think it gives the organisation real security going forward having that number re-committing to the group," Penney said.

“It’s a real positive sign that the lads believe in what's happening here and can see a future here for themselves.

"I think for the Munster supporters and everyone that has an attachment to Munster they can be really rapt that the playing future is being secured for the short to medium and in some cases even a long term. It’s wonderful news."

Most Read in Sport