Ulster’s Tuohy out of Glasgow clash

Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has had to shuffle his pack for tomorrow evening’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 match against Glasgow Warriors at Ravenhill (8pm) after lock Dan Tuohy failed to recover from the calf strain he sustained against Scarlets.

Tuohy was named in the provisional squad earlier this week but having failed to reach match fitness his place in the second row will be filled by Iain Henderson.

Anscombe has made five changes in total from the team that overcame the Scarlets last weekend.

Jared Payne returns from injury and is named at full back, while Paddy Wallace replaces the injured Luke Marshall and is selected in midfield alongside Darren Cave.

Andrew Trimble, who will make his 150th appearance for Ulster tomorrow night, starts on the right wing, with fellow Ireland international, Craig Gilroy, selected at number 11.

Paddy Jackson and Ruan Pienaar continue their half-back partnership.

There are two changes in the front row with Rory Best starting the game at hooker and John Afoa named at tight-head.

Robbie Diack, captain Chris Henry, and man-of-the-match from last week, Nick Williams, all start in an unchanged back-row.

Declan Fizpatrick is named on the bench and is in line to make his first appearance since November having recovered from a head injury.

The game will see Heineken Cup Pool 4 leaders Ulster take on Glasgow Warriors who are bottom of the Pool and without a win in the competition this season.

However, the visitors to Ravenhill tomorrow night were unfortunate not to beat Castres Olympique when a last minute penalty struck a post.

Andrew Trimble will become only the fourth player in history to make 150 appearances for Ulster, a feat which the winger is delighted to achieve.

“I never thought when I was starting out that I would ever make 150 appearances,” Trimble said.

“When I was younger I supported Ulster and always wanted to play for the Province, so to reach 150 is really special.”

Ulster (v. Glasgow Warriors): J Payne; A Trimble, D Cave, P Wallace, C Gilroy; P Jackson, R Pienaar; T Court, R Best, J Afoa, L Stevenson, I Henderson, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams;

Replacements: R Herring, C Black, D Fitzpatrick, N McComb, R Wilson, P Marshall, M Allen, C Cochrane.

Most Read in Sport