Adebayor starts before Africa departure

Tottenham striker Emmanuel Adebayor will play his final match before departing for the African Nations Cup in today’s Barclays Premier League clash with QPR.

Goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, forward Jermain Defoe and winger Aaron Lennon also returned among the seven changes to the side that defeated Coventry 3-0 in the FA Cup.

Midfielder Ji-Sung Park and winger Shaun Wright-Phillips started for QPR with manager Harry Redknapp hoping to mastermind victory against the club that sacked him in June.

QPR: Julio Cesar, Onuoha, Hill, Nelsen, Da Silva, Mbia, Park, Derry, Wright-Phillips, Taarabt, Mackie.

Subs: Green, Ferdinand, Cisse, Ben Haim, Faurlin, Bothroyd, Campbell.

Tottenham: Lloris, Walker, Dawson, Vertonghen, Naughton, Lennon, Dembele, Sandro, Bale, Adebayor, Defoe.

Subs: Friedel, Dempsey, Huddlestone, Parker, Sigurdsson, Assou-Ekotto, Caulker.

Referee: Lee Probert (Wiltshire)

Most Read in Sport