TWEETS: Reaction to Ireland's 2019 Rugby World Cup Pool A draw

Now we know. Ireland have been drawn in Pool A for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Joining them will the host nation Japan and Six nations rivals Scotland.

The reaction to the draw has been mostly positive, with people pleased to see Ireland avoid the likes of South Africa, Argentina and France.

Jamie Heaslip was happy with the outcome.

Some said Schmidt's men would have no excuses going into the tournament.

And there was also a word of caution - especially considering Ireland's recent Six Nations loss to Scotland.

2019 Rugby World Cup draw

  • Pool A - Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner.
  • Pool B - New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, repechage winner.
  • Pool C - England, France, Argentina, Americas 1, Oceania 2.
  • Pool D - Australia, Wales, Georgia, Americas 2, Oceania 1.

READ MORE: Ireland could face a very tough RWC quarter-final if they get out of Pool A


By Steve Neville

Most Read in Sport