Keatley at pivot for visit of Ulster

Rob Penney has opted to leave Ronan O’Gara on the bench for Munster’s RaboDirect PRO12 meeting with league leaders Ulster in Thomond Park tomorrow (5.30) with Ian Keatley retaining the number 10 jersey.

As well as O’Gara, internationals who missed the game against Connacht last week, Peter O'Mahony, Conor Murray and Simon Zebo are all included in the squad.

Damian Varley and Felix Jones make their return from injury with the latter named among the replacements.

Donncha O'Callaghan and Billy Holland are the only combination up front who remain intact from a week ago.

Fullback Denis Hurley will win his 100th Munster cap on Saturday. Captain Doug Howlett and Zebo complete the back three with James Downey and Casey Laulala resuming their midfield partnership.

Keatley will link up with Murray at halfback.

Wian du Preez and BJ Botha join Varley in the front row. Tommy O’Donnell and Paddy Butler will keep company with O’Mahony in a youthful back row.

Penney’s men will be looking to avenge the 20-19 defeat they suffered at Ravenhill earlier this season.

Munster: D Hurley; D Howlett capt, C Laulala, J Downey, S Zebo; I Keatley, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O'Callaghan, B Holland; P O'Mahony, T O'Donnell, P Butler.

Replacements: M Sherry, M Horan, S Archer, Dave O'Callaghan, J Coughlan, P Stringer, R O'Gara, F Jones.

Most Read in Sport