Burger named IRB player of the year

Schalk Burger completed a mesmerising season by winning the International Rugby Board (IRB's) Player of the Year in London's Royal Lancaster Hotel last night.

This will sit nicely alongside his South African Player of the Year and International Rugby Players Association (IRPA's) Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards.

"Schalk's emergence as a major force has meant a lot to South African rugby, but has also influenced world rugby," said Springbok coach Jake White, who was voted Coach of the Year in a clean sweep of the major categories as they were also awarded Team of the Year.

Former Ireland and Lions captain Ronnie Dawson was honoured with the Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished service for a glittering career in rugby both on and off the field.

List of Award winners:

Player of the Year: Schalk Burger (South Africa)

Team of the Year: South Africa

Coach of the Year: Jake White (South Africa)

U19 Player of the Year: Jeremy Thrush (New Zealand)

U21 Player of the Year: Jerome Kaino (New Zealand)

Sevens Team of the Year: New Zealand

Sevens Player of the Year: Simon Amor (England)

Spirit of Rugby Award: Jarrod Cunnningham

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service: Ronnie Dawson

Most Read in Sport