Pardew makes eight changes for Europa clash

Newcastle boss Alan Pardew made eight changes as the Magpies attempted to edge closer to the knock-out stages of the Europa League in Belgium.

Only Tim Krul, Fabricio Coloccini and Vurnon Anita survived from the side which started the 1-1 Barclays Premier League draw at Liverpool on Sunday as James Tavernier, Mike Williamson, Cheick Tiote, Gael Bigirimana, Gabriel Obertan, Sylvain Marveaux and brothers Shola and Sammy Ameobi were drafted in.

By contrast, caretaker Club Brugge manager Philippe Clement named eight of the men who ran out for Sunday’s 1-0 Jupiler League defeat by Waregem at the Jan Breydel Stadion with Tom Hogli, Michael Almeback and Maxime Lestienne replacing Bart Buysse, Jonathan Blondel and Mohamed Tchite.

Club Brugge: Jorgacevic, Hogli, Hoefkens, Almeback, Jordi, Donk, Odjija Ofoe, Lestienne, Jorgensen, Trickovski, Bacca.

Subs: Kujovic, Tchite, Vleminckx, Buysse, Engels, Verstraete, Lagrou.

Newcastle: Krul, Anita, Williamson, Coloccini, Tavernier, Tiote, Sammy Ameobi, Marveaux, Bigirimana, Obertan, Shola Ameobi.

Subs: Elliot, Santon, Cabaye, Cisse, Amalfitano, Steven Taylor, Ferguson.

Referee: Luca Banti (Italy)

Most Read in Sport