Moy headed for Croke Park following victory over An Ghaeltacht

By Francis Mooney

Moy Tír na nÓg (Tyrone) 1-5 An Ghaeltacht (Kerry) 0-6: Harry Loughran’s great goal broke An Ghaeltacht hearts at Semple Stadium as the Tyrone men snatched victory to qualify for the All-Ireland Club IFC final.

Despite playing the past 25 minutes with 14 men following the dismissal of Eanna O Conchuir, the Munster champions were in control, and opened out a 0-6 to 0-3 lead with scores from Brian O Beaglaoich abd Sean Michael O’Connor.

It wasn’t until the 65th minute that Moy went ahead for the first time when Loughran hit 1-1 to seal an unlikely victory and send his side to Croke Park next weekend.

Scorers for Moy: H Loughran 1-1, S Cavanagh 0-3 (2f), C Duffy 0-1.

An Ghaeltacht scorers: M O Conchuir (2f), B O Beaglaoich 0-2 each, D O Se, PJ MacLaimh 0-1 each.

Moy: N Brady; P Mackle, T McNicholl, T Conlon; M Gribbin, N Conlon, E Deeney; C Cavanagh, T Loughran; D Conroy, H Loughran, E Rafferty; R Coleman, S Cavanagh, A Currie.

Subs: C Duffy for Rafferty (45), D McKeown for Conroy (52)

An Ghaeltacht: T Mac an tSaoir; P Sauerland, M O Se, C O Liung; B O Beaglaoich, P O Se, C O Muircheartaigh; R O Se, E O Conchuir; C O Coileain, D O Se, PJ MacLaimh; S O Bambaire, T O Se, S M O Conchuir.

Subs: C Mac an tSaoir for Mac Laimh (49), Mac Laimh for Sauerland (58), C Mac Gearailt for O Coileain (60)

Referee: J Hickey (Carlow).



Most Read in Sport