Kenya's Bernard Rotich wins Dublin City Marathon

Kenya's Bernard Rotich, Ukraine's Nataliya Lehonkova and Kildare man Patrick Monahan took the main titles at the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon this morning writes Cóilín Duffy in Dublin.

20,000 took part in the biggest ever Marathon in the capital.

Rotich was the first man home in a time of 2 hrs, 15 minutes, 52 seconds; three seconds ahead of Ukraine's Yurii Ryskyuk.

Ethiopia's Asefa Legese Bekele was third.

Kenyan born Freddy Sittuk claimed the National Mens title in a time of 2 hrs, 16 minutes and five seconds.

Clonliffe Harriers, Gary O'Hanlon was two minutes behind to take second.

O'Hanlon said he was disappointed to take silverware, after being unaware that Freddy was eligible for National honours.

O'Hanlon thought he had won the race.

"I dropped in my bottles at 3pm yesterday, and Eugene Coppinger said that if he (Sittuk) wins he won't be National Champion, but if he has second he gets a medal.

"Something like that, so I never put him in (to the equation). I never featured him.

"I had a couple of lads at a couple of different spots to tell me what the gap was."

Sittuk says it's fair that he is Irish champion, after living here more than six months continuously.

"I think that it is fair, because I have run for Raheny Shamrocks since 2012.

"I have competed for Raheny in Cross-Country, and also in the Half Marathon."

Nataliya Lehonkova had almost six minutes to spare of Ashu Kasim to take her second Womens title in three years.

Laura Graham retained the Irish title in two hours, 39 minutes and six seconds; Caitriona Jennings was second, with 48-year old Pauline Curley in third.

Graham said it was a tough race.

"It felt that this year that it was tougher, as it was more windy.

"I enjoyed it, eventhough it was tough, but I felt it was ok."

Monahan claimed a fourth Wheelchair title in a row, with 25 and a half minutes to spare of second placed Richie Powell, with Susanne McGrath in third.

The Le Cheile, Kildare athlete finished in a time of 01:49.55.

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon Results 2017


1. Bernard Rotich: 02.15.52 – Kenya

2. Yurii Ruskyuk: 02.15.55 – Ukraine

3. Asefa Legese Bekele: 02.15.58 - Ethiopia


1. Nataliya Lehonkova: 02.28.57 - Ukraine

2. Ashu Kasim: 02.34.35 – Ethiopia

3. Viktoriya Khapilina: 02.35.54 - Ukraine

Dublin Marathon National Championships Results


1. Freddy Sittuk: 02.16.05 – Raheny Shamrocks A.C.

2. Gary O’Hanlon: 02.18.52 – Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

3. Sergiu Ciobanu:02.19.05 - Clonliffe Harriers A.C.


1. Laura Graham: 02.39.06 – Mourne Runners

2. Caitriona Jennings: 02.42.36 – Letterkenny A.C.

3. Pauline Curley: 02.50.53 – Tullamore Harriers A.C

Dublin Marathon Wheelchair Championship Results:

1. Patrick Monahan: 01.49.55 - Le Cheile AC

2. Richie Powell: 02.15.28

3. Susanne McGrath: 03.35.40


Most Read in Sport