Ireland side to face Sweden named

Martin O’Neill has named his starting side for the Republic of Ireland’s opening game of the European Championships.

Robbie Keane does not start the game, with Wes Hoolahan starting up front, assisted by Robbie Brady and Jon Walters. Darren Randolph takes on the goalkeeping duties.

Ciaran Clark is preferred to Richard Keogh and James McClean has also had to settle for a place on the bench.

Ireland take on Sweden in the Stade de France at 5pm - knowing that a draw is the absolute minimum needed to keep hopes alive of making the knockout stages.

Ireland team: Darren Randolph, Seamus Coleman, Ciaran Clark, John O’Shea, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Shane Long, Jeff Hendricks, Jon Walters, Robbie Brady, Wes Hoolahan.

KEYWORDS: sport, soccer, Euro 2016.


By Jill O'Sullivan

Most Read in Sport