Fitzgerald to debut for Kerry

Eamonn Fitzmaurice.

Dr Crokes defender Fionn Fitzgerald will make his Championship debut for Kerry in Sunday's Munster SFC quarter-final against Tipperary at Fitzgerald Stadium (throw-in 2pm).

For Eamonn Fitzmaurice's first Championship match in charge, the nephew of former Kerry goalkeeper Eamonn Fitzgerald will line out at left corner back.

Fitzgerald, a league debutant earlier this year, is included in a Kerry defensive unit that features the evergreen Tomás Ó Sé, who will be making his 84th appearance at this level at the start of his 16th Championship campaign.

Fitzgerald's club-mate Colm Cooper will captain the Kingdom in the injury-enforced absence of Eoin Brosnan, with 'Gooch' set to play on the forty rather than closer to goal.

Brosnan is fit enough for a place on the bench though, alongside the likes of Bryan Sheehan and Darran O'Sullivan.

Free-taker Johnny Buckley will combine with Anthony Maher at midfield, with a total of 12 players who started Kerry's last Championship match - the All-Ireland quarter-final defeat by Donegal - included in the line-up.

Meanwhile, corner back John Coghlan and centre forward Ian Fahey are the two Championship debutants in the Tipperary team to tackle Kerry.

Killenaule's Paddy Codd captains the Premier County from full-back, with manager Peter Creedon hoping his charges can close the gap on a Kerry outfit that won 0-16 to 0-10 when the counties met at this stage last year.

The inclusion of Aherlow marksman Barry Grogan at full-forward is a considerable boost for Tipp - he missed the 2012 Championship as he was away in America.

KERRY (SFC v Tipperary): B Kealy; M Ó Sé, A O'Mahony, F Fitzgerald; T Ó Sé, K Young, P Crowley; A Maher, J Buckley; P Galvin, C Cooper, D Walsh; D O'Sullivan, K Donaghy, J O'Donoghue.

TIPPERARY: P Fitzgerald; J Coghlan, P Codd, C McDonald; R Kiely, D Leahy, A Campbell; G Hannigan, R Costigan; C Sweeney, I Fahey, P Acheson; A Maloney, B Grogan, P Austin.

Most Read in Sport