One change for Tyrone

Captain Stephen O'Neill - fit

Dermot Carlin has been rewarded with a starting spot in the Tyrone team to take on Ulster champions Monaghan in Saturday's opening All-Ireland SFC quarter-final at Croke Park (throw-in 5pm).

Carlin made an impact off the bench in the 0-17 to 2-9 qualifier defeat of Meath last weekend, and he returns at corner back for the all-Ulster tie at the expense of Ryan McKenna.

Team captain Stephen O'Neill, who had been troubled by an Achilles injury, came through the Royals encounter unscathed and will lead the Red Hands from full-forward once more.

The speedy Darren McCurry has overcome a dead leg to retain his starting berth at top of the right, but there is no place on the bench for 2008 All-Star defender Justin McMahon who missed the Meath match with a calf strain.

Mickey Harte's men were workmanlike but far from convincing in their qualifier victories over Roscommon, Kildare and Meath, however wing forward Matthew Donnelly believes they can go up through the gears against in-form Monaghan.

"I do think there is a performance there ready to show, and when we get to that knockout stage, it's going to bring the best out of some of the players and I'm looking forward to it big time," he told the Irish News.

"We're going to have to up it big time, and they (Monaghan) will not be overly worried. I suppose it leaves us in a good enough position, but we know ourselves we're going to have to improve if we're going to compete with Monaghan."

Tyrone certainly have history on their side this weekend, having won their last four Championship clashes with Monaghan. Their most recent win was in the 2011 Ulster quarter-final which Harte's troops won by two points.

TYRONE (SFC v Monaghan): Pascal McConnell; Dermot Carlin, Conor Clarke, Cathal McCarron; Ciaran McGinley, Peter Harte, Conor Gormley; Colm Cavanagh, Sean Cavanagh; Matthew Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, Joe McMahon; Darren McCurry, Stephen O'Neill, Martin Penrose.

Subs: Michael O'Neill, Aidan Cassidy, Kyle Coney, Kevin Gallagher, Conan Grugan, Plunkett Kane, Johnathan Lafferty, Connor McAliskey, Danny McBride, Tiernan McCann, Aidan McCrory.

Most Read in Sport