O'Connor wields the axe at Athlone

New Athlone Town boss Michael O'Connor has wasted little time in moulding his team for the upcoming 2006 league campaign.

Players including Tadhg Murphy, Graeme O'Keeffe, Alan O'Connor, Michael McCann and Peter Rogers have not offered new contracts.

Athlone's 2005 Player of the Year Damien Rushe, along with Danny O'Leary, Des Hope, Alan Kelly, Padraig Moran, Michael Collins and Anthony Hayes have all been retained from last season's squad.

Tom Silke, Iarfhlaith Davoren and Robbie Hamm are currently considering offers.

O'Connor has also completed the signing of tough tackling midfielder Colin Fortune from Galway United. The Athlone native signed for Galway before the 2000/01 season, and has spent the last six seasons at Terryland Park, including two in the Premier Division.

Former Town players Seamus Hayes and Dermot Lennon have also been added to O'Connor's backroom staff.

Most Read in Sport