Mayo boss sticks with tried and trusted

As expected, Mayo manager James Horan has named an unchanged team for Sunday's Connacht SFC final against Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park (throw-in 2pm).

Horan has backed the fifteen players who took to the pitch for the recent semi-final victory over Galway.

Ronan McGarrity, who has recovered from a leg injury, is kept in reserve again as the O'Shea brothers' midfield partnership gets a second airing.

Place-kicking goalkeeper Robert Hennelly starts behind a defensive unit that conceded just one point in the second half of the Galway game.

Alan Freeman from Aghamore scored 1-2 against the Tribesmen and features in attack along with Andy Moran (0-8) and captain Alan Dillon (0-5), two of the county's other top scorers in the 2011 Championship.

Mayo stuttered badly in their Championship opener against London but are on course to win their second Connacht title in three years.

Horan's charges have already met Roscommon this season, clashing in January's Connacht FBD League competition.

They beat the Rossies 1-12 to 0-8 back then in Ballyhaunis, with full-forward Mark Ronaldson, a substitute this weekend, leading the scoring with 1-7 (0-6f).

MAYO (SFC v Roscommon): Robert Hennelly; Keith Higgins, Alan Feeney, Tom Cunniffe; Richie Feeney, Donal Vaughan, Trevor Mortimer; Aidan O'Shea, Seamus O'Shea; Kevin McLoughlin, Alan Dillon (capt), Andy Moran; Cillian O'Connor, Alan Freeman, Jason Doherty.

Substitutes: David Clarke, Ger Cafferkey, Dermot Geraghty, Chris Barrett, Lee Keegan, James Kilcullen, Ronan McGarrity, Peadar Gardiner, Aidan Campbell, Enda Varley, Mark Ronaldson.

Most Read in Sport