Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville each select their Team of the Season

Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville have selected their teamsof the year while on Monday Night Football.

Both pundits picked teams packed with Chelsea and Tottenham players - the top two teams in the league.

Carragher followed the formation of Antonio Conte's champions Chelsea by going for three at the back.

The former Liverpool man selected David De Gea in goal, behind a back three of Toby Alderweireld, David Luiz and Cesar Azpilicueta.

Player of the Year N'Golo Kante sits in midfield with Spurs duo Christian Eriksen and Dele Alli and Man City's David Silva.

Up top, Harry Kane plays through the middle in front of lone Arsenal man Alexis Sanchez and Eden Hazard, who Carra claimed was the best player in the league.

Carragher was quick to point out that his team formation wasn't the same as Conte's - his side lined out as a midfield diamond.

Meanwhile, Gary Neville's team lines out in a more traditional 4-4-2, with plenty of similar stars in the side.

Neville differs from Carragher, picking Thibaut Courtois in goal while he also picked Alderweireld and Luiz in defence with Azpilicueta at right-back and Danny Rose as left-full.

He too plumps for Kante and Alli in midfield with Hazard and Kevin De Bruyne on the wings. Two target men lead Neville's line - Kane and Diego Costa.


By Steve Neville

Most Read in Sport