UCC storm to victory over CIT in Fitzgibbon Cup

CIT 0-12 UCC 1-19

A storming finish - in which the winners outscored their neighbours by 1-6 to 0-1 from the 50th minute onwards - handed victory to UCC in this Fitzgibbon Cup derby, writes Eoghan Cormican.

The hosts, largely dependent on centre-forward Mikey Kearney for scores, trailed 0-11 to 0-8 at the break, but started the second period in promising fashion and had the deficit quickly back to the minimum thanks to scores from goalkeeper Patrick Collins (free) and Kearney.

They would, however, only score twice more in the closing 28 minutes.

Mark O'Brien of University College Cork in action against Jerry O'Neill of Cork Institute of Technology at CIT, Bishopstown, Cork. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile

A three-in-a-row burst from UCC put some daylight between the side and although Kearney pulled one back for CIT - 0-14 to 0-11 now read the scoreboard - it was terribly one-sided from there to the finish.

Two Mark Coleman frees sandwiched a placed ball effort from Shane Kingston and UCC were sure of the win when sub Robbie O’Flynn pounced on a Sean O’Donoghue delivery for the game’s sole green flag with five minutes remaining.

David Griffin and the excellent Michael Breen, the UCC captain clipped three points from centre-forward, swelled their lead to 10 come Fergal Horgan’s final whistle.

UCC entertain UCD at the Mardyke next Wednesday. A win there for Tom Kingston’s charges would ensure them a home quarter-final.

Scorers for UCC: S Kingston (0-5, 0-3 frees); R O’Flynn (1-1); M Breen (0-3); M Coleman (0-2 frees), J Power (0-2 frees), R Cahalane (0-2 each); S Forde, T Devine, D Fitzgibbon D Griffin (0-1 each).

Scorers for CIT: M Kearney (0-8, 0-5 frees); P Collins (0-2, 0-2 frees); E Heffernan, J O’Neill (0-1 each).

UCC: J Barry (Castlelyons); S O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), D Griffin (Carrigaline), E Gunning (Na Piarsaigh); C O’Leary (Valley Rovers), C Gleeson (Fourmilewater), M Coleman (Blarney); R Cahalane (Ballymartle), D Fitzgibbon (Charleville); M O’Brien (Ferrybank), M Breen (Ballina), J Power (Carrickshock); S Forde (Na Piarsaigh), T Devine (Modeligo), S Kingston (Douglas).

Subs: R O’Flynn (Erin’s Own) for Devine (18 mins, inj); C Browne (James Stephens) for Forde (42); S Hayes (Mallow) for Kingston, G Linehan (Kilbrin) for O’Brien, N Cashman (Blackrock) for Cahalane (all 58)

CIT: P Collins (Ballinhassig); E Healy Ballymartle), D Fanning (Pallasgreen), K Galvin (Clara); D Noonan (Glen Rovers), E Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore), C Prunty (Abbeyside-Ballinacourty); R Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore), K O'Neill (Watergrasshill); A Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg), M Kearney (Ballyduff), J O'Neill (Courcey Rovers); T O'Connor (Inniscarra), J Looney (Aghada), C Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore).

Subs: J Good (Tracton) for Coffey (HT); D Hartnett (Mountmellick) for Healy (40 mins); C Keane (St Finbarr’s) for O’Neill (46); M Ryan (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Heffernan (50).3

Referee: F Horgan (Tipperary).

KEYWORDS: Hurling, Cork


Most Read in Sport