Thurles to face De La Salle in repeat of 2010 final

De La Salle Celebrate in 2010

Thurles will face Waterford champions De La Salle in the provincial decider on Sunday, November 25.

It is a repeat of the 2010 final which De La Salle won 0-9 to 0-8.

John Keane's injury-time goal was the difference today in De La Salle's 1-10 to 0-10 semi-final triumph over Clare's Newmarket-on-Fergus at Sixmilebridge.

The Deise outfit led 0-7 to 0-6 at half-time despite hitting 10 wides. Shane O'Brien nudged Newmarket in front on the resumption with a quick-fire brace, only for De La Salle to hit back through the busy John Mullane and Dean Twomey.

Mike McInerney landed the levelling point for the Banner men to set up a tense conclusion. Decisively though, Keane struck for the game's only goal right at the death.

Meanwhile, Ballyhale Shamrocks will meet Oulart-the Ballagh in the Leinster Championship following their latest Kilkenny SHC title success.

Ballyhale beat Dicksboro 0-16 to 0-12 at Nowlan Park to be crowned county champions for the fifth time in seven years - only O'Loughlin Gaels and James Stephens have broken their domination in recent seasons.

Mark Aylward clipped over his fourth point of the afternoon to complete Shamrocks' final victory, with Dicksboro missing out on a late goal when substitute Eddie O'Donoghue struck a post.

Ballyhale should have had a more comfortable lead at that point, but Henry Shefflin missed two penalties in a first half that ended 0-9 to 0-7 in their favour.

Shefflin and his Kilkenny colleagues Michael and Colin Fennelly, James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick and Eoin Reid all played leading roles as Ballyhale kept Dicksboro at arm's length in a scrappy second period.

Most Read in Sport