O’Connor returns to Mayo team to face Tyrone

Mayo manager Stephen Rochford has named an unchanged side for tomorrow’s All-Ireland Football quarter-final clash with Tyrone at Croke Park (4pm), writes Shaun Cronin.

The Westerners announced the same team for last week’s win over Westmeath in the Qualifiers, however Jason Doherty did come in just before the start of the game because of Diarmuid O’Connor’s failure to recover in time from a dead leg.

It has now been confirmed by the county that Young Footballer of the Year O’Connor is fit enough to start tomorrow’s encounter with Mickie Harte’s men.

Mayo failed to impress in that 3-15 to 1-14 win over Westmeath, but they know a win tomorrow would see them head into an All-Ireland semi-final against the Championship’s fairytale story, in the form of Tipperary.

Mayo team to face Tyrone in full:

David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites); Brendan Harrison (Aghamore), Kevin Keane (Westport), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Lee Keegan (Westport), Colm Boyle (Davitts), Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels); Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy), Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber); Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber, captain).

KEYWORDS: gaa, sport


By Shaun Cronin

Most Read in Sport