GPA hurling awards team announced

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny have seven award winners on the OPEL/GPA Hurling Gaelic Players Awards team for 2007 following this morning's announcement at Jurys Hotel, Croke Park.

Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Tommy Walsh, James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick, Eddie Brennan, Henry Shefflin and Martin Comerford are the Cats' award winners.

Comerford is rewarded having missed out on an All-Star last Friday night at Citywest. He just one of four changes between the Vodafone GAA All-Stars team and the GPA side.

Wexford goalkeeper Damien Fitzhenry and Limerick duo Stephen Lucey and Mark Foley are the other recipients to be rewarded in this scheme chosen by the players.

The chairman of the Hurling selection committee is former Cork manager Donal O'Grady and he stressed the validity of the awards.

"We nominated three players for each position and then the players selected the award winners," O'Grady said.

Unlike other awards schemes the players were picked in their positions while league performances were also considered as well as the championship.

O'Grady extended his congratulations to all the award winners.

"I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the recipients on this year's team. To be honoured by your peers is the one of the highest accolades available in hurling."

GPA Chief Executive Dessie Farrell was also happy with the selection.

"Congratulations to the 15 winners on receipt of this endorsement from their fellow players. Next to an All-Ireland medal, this is the most prestigious award for an individual hurler but while recognising these outstanding achievements we must also acknowledge the contribution of all their team-mates during this year's thrilling championship," he said.

The hurling award winners will collect their awards on Friday, December 2 at the Citywest Hotel while the football team will be announced next week.

Meanwhile, there will also be individual player of the year award winners from each of the Tommy Murphy, Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cups.

2007 GPA/OPEL Gaelic Players Hurling Team of the Year:

Damien Fitzhenry (Wexford)

Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny)

Stephen Lucey (Limerick)

Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)

Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)

Ken McGrath (Waterford)

Mark Foley (Limerick)

James Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny)

Michael Walsh (Waterford)

Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)

Ollie Moran (Limerick)

Dan Shanahan (Waterford)

Andrew O'Shaughnessy (Limerick)

Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)

Martin Comerford (Kilkenny).

Most Read in Sport