Dicksboro prevail in high-scoring Kilkenny decider

Dicksboro 4-15 James Stephens 4-10

Dicksboro won their fifth Kilkenny senior hurling title in a high-scoring final in Nowlan Park.

Bill Sheehan netted in the third minute to get Dicksboro off to a flier. But Luke Scanlon responded nine minutes later to leave it 1-4 apiece.

Oisin Gough fired two goals in the next 10 minutes to move Dicksboro well clear (3-10 to 1-4).

But James Stephens responded with two goals of their own from. David Walton and Tadhg Dwyer as the incredible scoring continued. It was 3-11 to 3-5 at half-time.

The second half wasn't as free-scoring, but Dicksboro did enough to keep that gap. There were two more goals, Martin Gaffney blasting to the Village net on 42 minutes before Matthew Ruth did the same at the other end, but the day belonged to Dicksboro.

SCORERS: Dicksboro - Oisin Gough (2-0); Bill Sheehan (1-3); Martin Gaffney (1-1); Shane Stapleton (0-5, 0-4 frees, 0-1 65); Ollie Walsh (0-2); Robbie Fitzpatrick, Thomas Kenny, Aidan Nolan, Paul O'Flynn (0-1 each). James Stephens - David Walton (1-5, 0-5 frees); Tadhg Dwyer, Luke Scanlon, Matthew Ruth (1-1 each); Mikey Drennan (0-2 each).

Most Read in Sport