Cork IT lift Sigerson Cup

David Hughes of DIT and Daniel Goulding of CIT lock horns during the Sigerson Cup final. Picture: INPHO/Lorraine O Sullivan.

Cork IT 1-15 DIT 1-10

Daniel Goulding top-scored with nine points as Cork IT claimed their first ever Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup title on home soil with a five-point victory this afternoon over DIT.

Managed by development officer Keith Ricken, CIT ensured they became the eleventh college to engrave their name on the Sigerson Cup trophy.

In excellent conditions at the CIT Sportsgrounds, the hosts got off to a very poor start as DIT, minus Mark Vaughan, began in determined fashion.

Points from Dublin duo Kevin McManamon and Colin Daly and Cavan's Martin Reilly got the visitors into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead after four minutes.

DIT tormented the CIT defence in the opening stages. They crashed home the only goal of the first half in the sixth minute when McManamon blasted to the net.

However, the visitors were very much on the back foot as Cork IT, and in particular their freetaker Goulding, took over with DIT held to just one point before the interval.

Goulding kicked a massive eight points before the break, seven from frees and one from a '45' as his side turned a six-point deficit into a three-point half-time lead (0-10 to 1-4).

DIT began the second half in determined fashion with a brace of scores each from half-time substitute Niall Coughlan and defender Darragh Walsh.

However, a 37th-minute Shane McCarthy goal put CIT back in front and they held a comfortable five-point lead with 13 minutes remaining.

DIT kept plugging away and they punished CIT hard in the closing minutes, with McManamon adding his second point before CIT goalkeeper Liam Sheehan was forced to pull off a fine save from Niall Coughlan.

Nevertheless, CIT had done enough groundwork early on to secure victory and they put the gloss on a historic success with a ninth Goulding score in injury-time.

Scorers for Cork IT: D Goulding (8f, 1 45) 0-9; S McCarthy 1-0; G Sayers, P Kerrigan 0-2 each; P O'Flynn, C O'Neill 0-1 each.

Scorers for DIT: K McManamon (1f) 1-2; N Coughlan (1f) 0-3; D Walsh 0-2, C Daly, M Reilly, P Flynn 0-1 each

CORK IT (Cork unless stated): L Sheehan (Kerry); m A Fenton, R Carey, N Galvin; S O'Donoghue, A O'Sullivan (Kerry), C O'Driscoll; S O'Hare (Waterford), P O'Flynn; G Sayers (Kerry), P Kerrigan, S McCarthy; D Goulding, C O'Neill, S Cahalane. Subs: J Fitzpatrick for McCarthy (58); R Leahy for O'Neill (62)

DIT (Dublin unless stated): E Sommerville; D Walsh, N O'Shea, M Burke (Meath); D Hughes (Monaghan), R Glavin (Kildare); J Coughlan, P O'Neill (Kildare); M Reilly (Cavan), D Reilly, K McLoughlin (Mayo); P Flynn, C Daly, K McManamon. Subs: D Graham (Cavan) for Flynn (HT); N Coughlan for Daly (HT); E Gaffney (Cavan) for Walsh (51); B O'Loughlin

(Laois) for D Reilly (58); E Naughton (Kildare) for Hughes (60)

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)

Most Read in Sport