Cork dominate Camogie All Stars nominations

Gala All-Ireland camogie champions Cork dominate the nominations for this year’s Camogie All Stars with nine players in contention for awards.

Gemma O’Connor is in the running for an unprecedented fifth consecutive All-Star, with the Rebels' other nominations being Aoife Murray, captain Cathriona Foley, Mary O’Connor, Joanne O'Callaghan Orla Cotter, Briege Corkery, Síle Burns and Rachel Moloney.

Beaten All-Ireland and league finalists Galway have been handed eight nominations, including captain Sinéad Cahalan and 2008 championship top scorer Jessica Gill.

The Camogie All Star Awards, in association with O’Neills, will take place on 8th November at the CityWest Hotel in Dublin where the winners will be announced.

Camogie All Stars nominations 2008 in association with O’Neills:

Goalkeepers: Susan Earner (Galway), Aoife Murray (Cork), Denise Lynch (Clare).

Backs: Cathriona Foley, Gemma O’Connor, Mary O’Connor, Joanne O’Callaghan (Cork), Anne Marie Hayes, Sinéad Cahalan, Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Trish O’Halloran, Paula Buffin (Tipperary), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Noeleen Lambert, Catherine O’Loughlin, Mary Leacy (Wexford), Elaine Alyward (Kilkenny), Andrea Fitzpatrick, Rachel Ruddy (Dublin), Kate Lynch (Clare), Julie Lagan (Tyrone).

Midfielders: Breige Corkery, Orla Cotter (Cork), Áine Hillary (Galway), Michelle O’Leary (Wexford),

Grainne McGoldrick (Derry), Deirdre Murphy (Clare).

Forwards: Jessica Gill, Therese Maher, Veronica Curtin (Galway), Rachel Moloney, Síle Burns (Cork), Claire Grogan (Tipperary), Aoife Neary, Sinéad Millea (Kilkenny), Ursula Jacob, Kate Kelly (Wexford), Eileen O’Brien (Limerick), Jane Adams (Antrim), Tine Hannon (Offaly), Annette McGeeney (Roscommon), Louise Mahony (Laois), Carina Rosengrave (Clare), Áine Lyng (Waterford), Jane Dolan (Meath).

The awards will be presented on Saturday, November 8 in CityWest Hotel.

Most Read in Sport