33-man Ireland squad announced

Dave McSharry

A 33-man Ireland squad has been announced for training this week as preparations continue for the opening game against Wales in Cardiff next Saturday in the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

There are 11 players included in the squad from the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds side that narrowly lost to the England Saxons in Galway on Friday night.

Dave McSharry and Paddy Jackson had both picked up minor knocks from that game, but their injuries were not serious enough to rule them out of joining up with the rest of the Squad in Carton House this evening.

The Ireland team to play Wales will be announced on Tuesday at lunchtime.

Ireland Training Squad (33):

Michael Bent

Rory Best

Tom Court

Sean Cronin

Gordon D'Arcy

Keith Earls

Luke Fitzgerald

Declan Fitzpatrick

Craig Gilroy

Cian Healy

Jamie Heaslip

Iain Henderson

Chris Henry

Paddy Jackson

Rob Kearney

David Kilcoyne

Conor Murray

Mike McCarthy

Kevin McLaughlin

Fergus McFadden

Dave McSharry

Sean O’Brien

Donncha O'Callaghan

Brian O'Driscoll

Ronan O'Gara

Peter O'Mahony

Eoin Reddan

Mike Ross

Donnacha Ryan

Jonathan Sexton

Mike Sherry

Devin Toner

Simon Zebo

Most Read in Sport