Portishead have covered a famous Abba song in tribute to MP Jo Cox

Bristol band Portishead have released a cover of Abba hit SOS as a tribute to the late Jo Cox.

The haunting rendition features the distinctive voice of Portishead singer Beth Gibbons.

The video, in which Beth is shot simply in black and white, ends poignantly with the words taken from the late politician’s maiden speech in parliament: “We have far more in common than which divides us.”

The hashtag #MoreInCommon is also on display.

Trip hop pioneers Portishead, best known for their 1997 single All Mine, are the latest to make a gesture to honour the life of the Batley and Spen MP who was killed last week.

A planned Glastonbury Festival tribute on June 22, on what would have been the MP’s 42nd birthday, has been pushed back to Thursday after traffic jams and flooded fields saw some campers waiting up to 11 hours to enter the festival.

A Facebook group for the “More In Common” event said it had been moved to the Park Stage at 4pm “to allow more people to take part” in the celebration of Ms Cox’s life.

The tireless campaigner of various causes will also be honoured with an album of live music from Glastonbury festival which will raise money for refugees, Oxfam has said.

Artists including Coldplay and Muse will contribute songs from their upcoming Glastonbury sets to Oxfam Presents: Stand As One – Live at Glastonbury 2016, a first-of-its-kind live album in support of Oxfam’s work with refugees worldwide.

Mark Goldring, Oxfam GB chief executive, said it would now be made in memory of the Labour MP, who was a former Oxfam activist and who was killed on June 16.

He said: “Given Jo’s tireless work to help refugees both at Oxfam and beyond, it felt appropriate to dedicate the album to her.”

Glastonbury co-organiser Emily Eavis explained: “We are making this special live album from Glastonbury this summer because the scale of the refugee crisis is so huge we simply had to do something. We want people who are far from home and frightened to know we are doing whatever we can to help.”

She added: “All of us – Glastonbury, Oxfam, musicians and music-lovers everywhere – must Stand As One to demand action for refugees.”

Sigur Ros, The Last Shadow Puppets, Chvrches, Wolf Alice, Laura Mvula, Jamie Lawson, The 1975, Editors, Years & Years and Fatboy Slim are also confirmed for the album which will be released on July 11.