Geldof wins Lifetime Gong at Meteor Awards ceremony

A surprise guest at the Meteor Awards tonight was Bob Geldof, who picked up a Lifetime Achievement Award.

After their eight awards at last year’s ceremony, U2 had to be satisfied with just one on this occasion, walking away with the gong for Best Group.

Bono, however, was singled out later when he was presented with the Humanitarian Award by Colin Farrell.

Phil Coulter, meanwhile, received the Industry Contribution Award.

The Red Hot Chilli Peppers took awards for Best International Album and Best Visiting Live Performance.

Other Irish acts to win Gongs were Westlife, Luke Thomas and Carly Hennessy.

Well-known faces who attended last night’s ceremony included actors Colm Meaney, Patrick Bergin and Stephen Rea, as well as footballers Phil Babb and Jason McAteer.

Singers Tom Jones and Sinead O’Connor also made appearances.

Best Group: U2

Best Female Singer: Carly Hennessey.

Best Male Singer: Mundy.

Best Folk/Trad Act: John Spillane.

Best Album: ‘Skylarking’ - Mic Christopher.

Best Dance Act: Luke Thomas.

Best Pop Act: Westlife.

Best Radio DJ: Ian Dempsey.

Best Country-Roots Artist: Gerry Fish.

Best New Act: The Thrills.

Best International Group: Coldplay.

Best International Male: Eminem.

Best International Female: Avril Lavigne.

Best International Album: ‘By The Way’ - Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

Best Visiting Live Performance: Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

Hope For 2003 Award: Rubyhorse.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Bob Geldof.

Humanitarian Award: Bono.

Industry Contribution Award: Phil Coulter.

Most Read in Showbiz