Met Éireann issues weather warning for 14 counties

Met Éireann has today issued a new Rainfall Warning, covering a total of 14 counties.

The Status Yellow Rainfall Warning for Munster, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow and Meath was issued at 10am today.

The warning states that "heavy rain is expected with accumulations between 30 and 50 mm possible".

The warning is valid from midnight tonight until a minute before midnight tomorrow.

The warning comes as it emerged Cork city Council are to issue a flood alert for Cork City centre with heavy rain and high tides expected between 5.30pm and 7pm on Friday.

Cork City Council said: "Flooding is possible at Morrisons Island, South Terrace and Wandesford Quay from 5.30pm to 7.30pm on Friday due to high tides."

The news has prompted warnings from the National Emergency Co-Ordination Centre that repairs to electricity and water supplies may be disrupted and prolong the disruption of some of the thousands of customers who remain cut off from electricity, water and tele-communication services.

The ESB has said that power has been restored to 280,000 homes and businesses after storm Ophelia.

They said around 2,500 ESB Networks staff and 1,000 contractors are continuing to bring back power to the remaining 105,000 customers, and have been joined in their efforts by 283 staff from electricity utilities in Northern Ireland, Scotland, England, Wales, the Isle of Man and France.

The power firm has also published estimated restoration times on their PowerCheck app and online at for homes and businesses still without power.

Up to 25,000 people still have no water supply.

Most Read in Ireland