Live updates: 6 seats left to fill in 32nd Dáil

Update 1.32am: A full recount has been requested by in Longford-Westmeath.

Coverage of recounts in Dublin South Central, Dublin Bay North and Longford-Westmeath will resume at 6am.

Update 1.00am: Fianna Fáil's Sean Haughey has been elected in Dublin Bay North.

Update 11.00pm: Kevin Boxer Moran has been elected in Longford-Westmeath.

Update 9.20pm: The recount has finished in Dublin South West.

John Lahart, Paul Murphy, Sean Crowe, Colm Brophy and Katherine Zappone are confirmed to have been elected to the Dáil.

Update 9.10pm: Fianna Fáil candidate Connie Gerety Quinn has been eliminated in the 12th count in Longford-Westmeath.

It followed a recheck which was ordered by Ms Gerety Quinn last night.

Five candidates now remain in the race for three seats, with the 13th count underway.

Independent Alliance candidate Kevin Boxer Moran looks set to be elected to the second seat, and Fine Gael's Peter Burke to the third.

However, it's a battle for the fourth seat between outgoing Fine Gael TD James Bannon, outgoing Labour TD Willie Penrose, and Sinn Féin's Paul Hogan.

Fianna Fáil's Robert Troy was elected on the first count on Saturday.

Update 5.42pm: Paul Kehoe and Michael Darcy, both of Fine Gael, have been elected to the final two seats in Wexford.

Fine Gael now have 49 seats, with 43 for Fianna Fáil and 22 for Sinn Féin. Labour has six seats, the Anti Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit group have five, while the Independent Alliance have four seats.

Sixteen Independent deputies have been elected, the Social Democrats have three seats, and the Green Party have two.

There are now just eight seats left to be filled.

Earlier: Counts, recounts and re-checks are continuing this afternoon to elect the remaining TDs to the 32nd Dáil.

There are still TDs to be elected in Dublin South Central and Dublin South West.

A recount in Longford/Westmeath was adjourned in the early hours of this morning and resumed later.

Meanwhile, a full recounts is taking place in Dublin Bay North.

The latter was requested by Independent Averil Power, who is just 67 votes behind Independent TD Tommy Broughan.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny is to meet his party leadership to discuss the fall-out from the election, while Fianna Fáil chief Micheal Martin will open talks this week with his own stalwarts about their limited options.

Fine Gael looks set to be the largest party despite suffering humiliating losses after five years in power implementing austerity, taking a narrow lead over arch-rival Fianna Fáil.

Outgoing junior coalition partner Labour has taken a drubbing with a number of its ministers being ejected, although party leader Joan Burton and deputy leader Alan Kelly won fights to retain their seats.

Ms Burton said she did not see her party in the next government.

Among the battered coalition's biggest casualties were Fine Gael's deputy leader and former health minister James Reilly, the party's former justice minister Alan Shatter and Labour's communications minister Alan White.

Such is the uncertainty, senior political figures have talked openly about a new political system, citing continental European-style consensual arrangements or even a power-sharing executive similar to Northern Ireland.

KEYWORDS: Election 2016


Most Read in Ireland