Harris gets junior finance job in reshuffle

The country's second youngest TD, Simon Harris, is to be appointed to the high profile position of Junior Finance Minister in a reshuffle to be announced this afternoon.

A formal announcement is expected in the Dáil this afternoon.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny and Tánaiste Joan Burton have sacked a number of junior Ministers in a bid to reshuffle the team.

The 27-year-old is a first-time TD for Wicklow and member of the Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee (PAC) who contested a European Parliament seat in Ireland South in Mays’ elections.

It's been confirmed that Fine Gael TDs, Fergus O’Dowd and Ciaran Cannon, as well as Labour’s Joe Costello are to be demoted from the Junior Ministerial benches.

Others also likely to be out are John Perry and Dinny McGinley

Mr Cannon, who represents Galway East, tweeted that: “It has been an honour & a privilege to serve as a Minister of State in Education. I've worked with exceptional people across Ireland.”

Cork North Central TD Dara Murphy (FG) is expected to be Minister for European Affairs, while Aodhán Ó Ríordáin (Labour) is expected to be made a junior minister the Department of Justice.

The Taoiseach signaled this would not be an easy day and it appears he is sacking many that have held jobs for the past three years.

Staying put are the chief Whip Paul Kehoe, Agriculture junior Tom Hayes, new Business and Employment Super Junior Ged Nash and Minister for the Irish Abroad Jimmy Deenihan.

The Labour Party is also keeping Kathleen Lynch and Sean Sherlock, while bringing in new faces like Ann Phelan and Kevin Humphreys.

Also getting the nod for a junior Ministry is Waterford's Paudie Coffey.

Names remaining with not enough jobs to go with them are Joe McHugh, Damien English, Dara Murphy, Mary Mitchell O'Connor and Frankie Feighan.

Most Read in Ireland